[Review] The Crowns of Croswald – D.E. Night (Book 1)

I would like to thank Daniela for sending me a e-copy of this novel, and the author as well.

I was gifted a free copy in exchange for a honest review.

Ivy Lovely is 16 and she has no idea who she is—or what her powers could be. When she crosses a magical boundary, she discovers a whole new world of enchantment and mystery. Making friends that will last a lifetime—and save her life—she steps into her own abilities and discovers more about her hidden past, magical blood, and the power of Croswald’s mystical stones. But all is not well: a dark history and an evil Queen threatens all that is good. Will Ivy’s bravery and wit be enough?

Curious and whimsical, both shy and brave, Ivy is a hero that connects with readers of all ages. For those who wished that Narnia, Harry Potter, and Alice in Wonderland could go on forever, Croswald opens a whole new world of magic. Recommended as a read-aloud for families and a first middle-grade fantasy read, The Crowns of Croswald is a four-part series that will carry readers to a whimsical world that they won’t want to leave.

When I first started reading this novel, I got a bit scared because it reminded me quite a lot of Harry Potter with how the character have secret powers, how she ends up going to a magic school etc, but in the end I was really surprised to find a completely different universe (except for the magic, obviously!)

We are following Ivy, who has no idea what’s happening to her. She’s going to have to keep up with this whole new world and her new life after years of serving someone. She had no idea what this school has in store for her with all those secrets, the crazy adventures but also the new friends she’s gonna make.

As I said, I was so surprised that I got super into it and read it so quickly. I just wanted to know the truths about all the well-kept secrets from every characters but also the school.

If you need an escape and some magic, this is the novel for you.

You can find the author on:


Website (You can watch the trailers for books 1 to 3 on this website!)

You can buy it on Amazon or find it on IndieBound

Morgane. x


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.